Microfossil Image Competition 2017 for 2018 TMS Calendar – Winners

The Micropalaeontological Society is delighted to announce the winner of this year’s Micropalaeontology Image Competition!

The overall image winner was submitted by Adam David Woodhouse from the University of Leeds, with his beautiful image of the planktonic foraminifera Acarinina praetopilensis from the Eocene equatorial Pacific. The image clearly displays the heavy recrystallistion of the foram test and the adherence of calcareous nannofossils with large muricae projecting through coccolith debris. The main image diameter c. 150 µm, and the image to be used within the calendar (August) will include an image of the complete foram (c. 400 µm diameter) for context. Not only does Adam win the competition’s first prize of €200, but also has his image included on the front cover of out TMSoc2018 Calendar (see above)!

On behalf of the Society we would like to congratulate Adam on his success. Eleven additional winners were selected from the fantastic submissions, and are on display below! A wide variety of microfossils and imaging techniques have been championed this year, and we are already looking forward to next year’s competition.

The twelve winning images have been incorporated into the 2018 Micropalaeontology Calendar, which will soon be available for purchase! Like last year, the calendar has been produced in spiral-bound A4 format with one page per month.

A full list of the winners can be found below:

1. Adam David Woodhouse , University of Leeds – overall winner! SEM image is of the foram Acarinina praetopilensis, displaying heavy recrystallisation & coccolith debris
2. Ulrike Hoff, University of Norway – Holocene Diatoms from Two-Yurts Lake, Kamchatka, Russia.
3. Susan Richardson, Wilkes Honors College, Florida Atlantic Uni – thin section of foram Schwagerina nelsoni.
4. Marie-Béatrice Forel, Le Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle – Ostracod Cytherelloidea from the lagoon of Rangiroa atoll, French Polynesia.
5. Septriandi A. Chan, King Fahd University of Petroleum & Minerals – Elphidium steinkern, from Middle Miocene of Saudi Arabia.
6. María José Leaño, Paleolab, Microscopy Center, Universidad de los andes Bogota – SEM of Silybum marianum (milk thistle) pollen
7. Elaine Mawbey, University of Bristol – diatom Arachnoidiscus ehrenberg, from Bransfield Strait, West Antarctic Penninsula.
8. Haruka Takagi, Uni of Tokyo – Globigerinoides sacculifer & photosymbiotic dinoflagellates. From Sagami Bay, Japan.
9. Lynz Fox, NHM London – Cracked Orbulina universa test revealing juvenile stages within. From Indian Ocean.
10. Samantha Gibbs, NOCS University of Southampton – Hand-made coccolithophores of Coccolithus braarudii.
11. Roger C. Wagner & Debbie Powell, University of Delaware, USA – Assortment of radiolarian SEMs collected from the seas off Barbados, dating to the Cenozoic Era.
12. Odysseas Archontikis, Département Sciences de la Terre, Université de Lille & Faculty of Geology and Geoenvironment, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece – SEM of diatom Asterolampra marylandica, from Cretan Sea (Med)

Winning Images

[custom_gallery id=”8072″ layout=”masonry”]